The Lovely Bones


The Lovely Bones has caused a bit of a stir between those loyal to the book and people new to story. Fans of Alice Sebold’s novel of the same name feel that it has not done the book justice, and that it did not carry the same emotional weight that the novel did.

This is always going to be the difficulty when adapting a much-loved story, but if we were to trust anyone with the challenge, who better than Peter Jackson, the man responsible for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy.

Before watching the film I had not read the book and did not know the story. Perhaps this is the reason that I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I felt it built tension masterfully, with  Stanley Tucci presenting a vile and terrifying villain. The story was interesting, thought-provoking and emotional without being cliched.

I was transfixed by the way that Peter Jackson conjured up the fantasy-like in-between stage that existed on the outskirts of reality. The special effects were incredibly well done and this was one of the main reasons I enjoyed the film so much.

In the end, you are entitled to your own opinion, even if it is wrong. So please do leave a comment if you disagree with me.

We are screening The Lovely Bones 5th-11th March click here to book tickets or call our box office on 01786 466 666

About macrobert
macrobert arts centre offers an exciting programme of events that welcomes everyone. Choose from a fantastic programme of live events including theatre, dance and music. There is also a full cinema programme with films showing to suit all ages and tastes. There are lots of fun activities for children and young people: creative factories, supervised arts and craft sessions in treehouse, tailor made birthday parties, and youth theatre and dance groups. TICKETS AND INFORMATION LINE 01786 466666 You can also follow macrobert on Facebook , Twitter and Bebo. For special offers and to get all the macrobert news first, sign up for our weekly e-bulletin via www.macrobert.org.

One Response to The Lovely Bones

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I saw this last night and having not read the book either I absolutely loved it. I was on the edge of my seat with my heart pounding a couple of times. I’ve read some reviews that comment on the thought provoking message that the reviewers feel the film misses but I went home and thought a lot about people in my life and I think I get the gist! Even if you feel the plot doesn’t do the book justice I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed by the stunning visuals.

    Only wish I’d waited to see it at macrobert for almost half the price!

Leave a Reply

